How long does it take Depo Medrol to work for Stomatitis etc?

michele spontak

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Charlie has a flare up of Stomatitis. He received a shot yesterday evening. How long does it usually take to work so he can eat comfortably again? It has been so long since he had a flare up , I forgot. :(

GoldyCat

Staff Member
Purraise
It's been a while for me, too, but I vaguely remember it worked fairly quickly within a day or two. How often has he had to have the shot? I also found that after a while each shot was less effective, or the effect lasted a shorter time.

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi. Sorry no one has responded to your post! I have no experience with this, but recall reading some previous posts where it generally takes about 24 hours or so to start to see some relief. I also saw where some members ended up getting pain meds to accompany the Depo for a bit of immediate relief.

Oops - just saw that GoldyCat GoldyCat responded! Hope others with experience will also respond soon!!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

michele spontak

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
It's been a while for me, too, but I vaguely remember it worked fairly quickly within a day or two. How often has he had to have the shot? I also found that after a while each shot was less effective, or the effect lasted a shorter time.