How do I feed both my cats raw food?

taquitos

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello all! I'm a newbie here so let me start by introducing myself and my cats.

My name is Shae, and I work at a local pet boutique that puts an emphasis on animal nutrition. We are HUGE advocates of feeding raw, and the owner of the store makes her own homemade raw to sell in store. With that said, my cats were on a grain free kibble, getting wet food once a week, because I wasn't fully comfortable with the idea of feeding raw at first. Well, that all changed when a couple of weeks ago, one of my cats, Cha Cha, developed urinary crystals. Luckily there was no blockage, but he is back home and now I have switched both my cats to raw.

Here's the thing... One of my cats LOVES raw. He used to never be a big fan of any food, really, but with raw he finishes his meals first (for the first time ever), and will often go and eat uneaten food from my other cat's plate. My other cat isn't full, but he just takes longer to eat his meal (he used to scarf his old food down but not anymore).

I know cats are supposed to eat 6-8 small meals a day instead of 2 big meals, but you can't free feed raw and I simply don't have the time to feed more often during the day. So what do I do to make sure that my slower cat gets his full portion a day? Do I lock him up in the bathroom until he finishes?

Thanks for the help!

Willowy

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Most people can squeeze 3 feedings in--I do it before work, after work, and at bedtime. Maybe not perfectly spaced but at least each meal can be smaller, maybe it'll give him a chance to finish. Or, yeah, you can put him (or Mr. Munchy) in another room.

Congrats on an easy raw transition! Some of us have more trouble than that! :lol3:

carolina

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise