Helping stray cat - what is best for Mr. Orange?

fenya7

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Please share your experience, I need to find out what would be better for this cat.

He is a very friendly stray cat, a two y.o. male orange tabby. He is not neutered.  I've been feeding him for about 4 months now, he always is meeting me and wants to be pet and played with. He is VERY skinny, and one meal I bring him every day seems to be his only meal. Recently I noticed that in the garden where he usually hangs out, there are two bowls left outside (for their small dog) with dog food. This cat never was interested in water I leave him, but eats all wet food I bring in one sitting. What bothers me is that he probably eats that dog food as well, and this is a NO for a cat. The owner of the garden says the cat is only a visitor, not his pet. In the course of four months, I barely saw the guy more than 4 times. A very odd looking lady who lives in the next house once told us that the cat is hers, but when I suggested that I buy food for him so that she gives him cat food, she says that he is fine, no-no-no.

I only saw her one time, and she seamed very odd, to put it mildly.

I have my own cat in my one bedroom apartment, I cannot take another one, pets are not allowed. I do not drive and I have to walk 40 minutes one way to feed him, I work full time, so at times I just cannot do it. Especially when I leave for vacation. The cat used to have a nice younger buddy (a kitten about 8 m.o.) who was extremely friendly. When I was on vacation, a maniac killed him, I found his little body near dumpster on neighboring street.

Where this cat hangs out, in the back of the garden, there is a raccoon family and (according to the garden owner) all wounds and scratches on the orange cat are from raccoons' attacks.