Help Taming A Feral

mehyabbers

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I'm pretty new to taming ferals and need advice. I currently have a likely pregnant small female and she is angry as hell. I've been sheltering her probably about two weeks. I had her in a large cage in my garage the first week and the second week I moved her into a small room in my basement.

She seems healthy, has a big appetite, and is using the litter box always. But the problem is she hates me.

I've been keeping her very well fed since I trapped her because I want to make sure the kittens are healthy when she has them. I can handle her but only after putting a towel over her and keeping her head covered.

My current method is bringing yummy wet food to her once a day (which she very much enjoys), wrapping her the towel, situating her next to me, uncovering her face, and allowing her to eat as I stroke her and talk to her. I thought this was working okay until I went in there this morning. For some reason she was just as angry as the day I trapped her. Lunging, hissing, growling.

I feel this is time sensitive. I want to get her to a vet to get checked out before she has her kittens but I feel like I can't do that until she's a little more calm. I also want her to be content with me and her environment before the birth so she and her kittens aren't born into a stressful environment. I would feel awful if she rejected her kittens because of me.