Help, Recently Adopted A Barn Cat.

Northernnature

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everybody, I'm new to your forum and I'm a novice when it comes to cats. I have two cats and have recently adopted a barn cat. Well, to be honest he adopted us. He showed up on our property during a real cold snap, poor little guy had severe frost bite on his ears and toes. Turns out he walked almost three kilometres. We found the owners and he went home and two weeks later, he came back. The owner said we could keep him.

The problem that I'm having is he doesn't always use the litter box. I have him set up in a spare bedroom and when he's in there he always uses the box. But when I let him out, he will pee on the floor.

He has a vet appointment on the January 18th, to have his "dingle berries" plucked, vaccinations and all that good stuff. Will getting him fixed help with this problem or does anybody have any other ideas or solutions. Any and all suggestions are welcome, thanks.

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi. It might help some after he is neutered, but then again it might not. Your best bet is to set up multiple litter boxes - one for each area he is in. After all he is a barn cat, they go pretty much where they want to go. But, since he does use the one litter box, if he has more available to him in the other areas he is in, he will likely use those too. Once he is more used to his new environment and settles in, you will probably be able to remove some the boxes.

rubysmama

Forum Helper
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hello and welcome to TCS.

As FeebysOwner FeebysOwner has posted, neutering may stop his peeing outside the litter box. Do you think it's spraying/territorial marking, or just normal bladder emptying. Since it happens outside of his safe room, it might be because he smells your other cats' scents.