Grooming Mitt For 14 Weeks Old Kitten

chromecat

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
hi all! I bought today a super cheap small pet grooming mitt - the package doesn't say it's specifically for cats but I thought I might give it a try. Turns out the kitten LOVES it, he just purrs away. Is it enough for a short hair kitten or should I look into something more professional for grooming?

I am a complete kitten newbie, we adopted our first yesterday and still trying to figure out how to do it right!! What are essential items we should have? We have litter tray and crystal litter (same that the foster carer was using), a tray mat, 50 tins of the food he was on (I'd like to choose a premium brand and slowly switch), a plate for canned food, a bowl for water and a bowl for dry food, a bowls mat, a small scratch post (but we are building a huge one ourselves), nail clippers, carrier, a little bed (he doesn't like it, he actually prefers to sleep in the carrier), a few toys, a catnip plant and the grooming mitt I mentioned in another thread. Are we missing something for now? Should we use some neutraliser for odours or get ready with something to clean up potential toilet mistakes (we have a carpet)? His pee doesn't smell at all, the crystals are good I guess, but the poo, oh gosh :-D

Last edited by a moderator:

daisyd

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
You sound pretty set up to me ! Toys hanging on a string was a must for me when first got my kitten . I didn’t have anything - only a litter tray and some food :insertevillaugh:. The scratch post with a bed hanging on it she still loves however most I picked up after her personality came out . She prefers sleeping on the window sill and my bed rather than her own !

CaliCatCharlie

Living FeLV Pawwwsitive!
Adult Cat
Purraise
Sounds like you have it covered. What a lucky kitty!