Greetings From Maine

Rawr!

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Good Afternoon Everyone!

I'm an experienced breeder in Maine and I've been trying to start a reputable breedery (hobby-size) for CFA certified Maine coons. I'm having difficulty finding other breeders willing to sell certified Maine coons with breeding rights. I've asked several local catteries in my area but none of them sell with breeding rights. I have about 10 years experience breeding Chinese Shar Pei dogs and I've always had several dogs and cats as beloved members of my family.

I purchased my first CFA certified purebred Maine coon about 3 years ago. I've always been a big fan of cats, offering unconditional friendship, being low maintenance compared to dogs, intelligent, playful, and of course adorable. Now I have a CFA registered Queen with breeding rights and a CFA registered male, also with breeding rights. I purchased the male with the intention of breeding with the female, but unfortunately, the cattery sold me a male kitten with Cryptorchidism, so he wasn't suitable for breeding and I had to get him fixed. (Yes, I paid extra for breeding rights, despite never being able to use them--perhaps partly my fault for not checking to make sure the kitten's testicles had discended before purchasing.)

I've been wanting to start a small cattery breeding Maine coons for many years. I absolutely love the Maine Coon breed with their large sizes, exotic lynx tips, and dog-like personalities (yes, they follow me around the house aren't afraid of water!). I enjoy the sense of satisfication I get when I know a pet I sold is going to a good family, because it'll undoubtedly bring that family a profound sense of joy and friendship for many years.