Going on vacation WITH cats

irinasak

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
My boyfriend's parents have a really big vacation house in the country area. It is a 1 hour and a half car ride from where we live. The house is maybe 5 times bigger than our apartment and no one lives there. It is only used in the summer as a vacation house.

As we will have a very light summer because I am an assistant lecturer and my bf is renegotiating his contract to work from home, we are seriously considering staying there for longer periods during the summer. But that will only work for me if I will take my kitties with me. The most I have been away from them is for 4 nights and I do not want to stay away from them longer than that - on the 4th night all I did was look at photos of them and talk about them, even if I knew that their sitter was great with them (she is a very good friend and stays with them when we are away).

The ideal scenario is that the five of us (me, my boyfriend and the three cats)  go there and stay for at least two weeks, to let them get used to the place and if they seem fine, we could stay for maybe two months. Of course that at first they will stay only in our room, and if they settle in well we will let them have the roam of the house. They have these long stairs from the living room to the first floor and huge hallways and I can imagine them running all over the place. The living room alone is bigger than our entire apartment. They would be indoor only, as they are now.