Getting Ready To Trap A Stray - He Appears To Have An Eye Infection

elizabeth k

Trying my best to help neighborhood strays by TNR.
Young Cat
Purraise
I am currently feeding a stray/semi-feral cat. I have been feeding him for several months and I am going to borrow a trap and take him to the Humane Society (tnr). I noticed that he now has thick, goopy discharge leaking from his eyes and his lids are a bit swollen. Until my schedule allows me to get him to the Humane Society, is there anything other then L-Lysine that I can put in his food that will help his eyes?

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Though he probably needs prescription eye drops, he would probably benefit from an antibiotic like clavamox mixed in his food.

orange&white

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Is there any possibility of rearranging your schedule to trap him sooner? The HS will likely treat his eyes while they have him and it would probably be easier for them to administer drops if he needs them. Second-best option: maybe the HS or your regular vet could prescribe antibiotics without an office visit.

msaimee

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Oral antibiotics are just as effective as eye drops and often easier to administer. Eye infections can get very serious very quickly, so you should try to get him to a vet as soon as possible. You can order Fish Mox without a prescription online, it is Amoxicillin capsules you can mix with water and put in his food for a week and it will clear up the infection. If you want the info I can PM it to you. But getting him to the vet quickly would be best.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

elizabeth k

Young Cat
Purraise