Fostered Cat, Flinching.

Lil Panda

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all. Sorry this is going to be a long post!

I am quite new to having cats. I have two. Smudge who is a neutered 14 month old and Gina who is between five and six years old and speyed.

I fostered Gina three weeks ago, previous to that she had been in another foster home for over a year. However I don't feel she was well cared for as she has come to me with conjunctivitis, sore pads on 3 of her feet and a problem with her teeth. We are off to the vets again this week to see if the meds given two weeks ago have helped her.

My question is what can I do to help her trust me and calm her and is flinching a sign she has been hit in the past?
She will come for a stroke at night once everything is quiet but then if I move too quickly or she hears any noise she either flinches or darts away and won't come out from her hidey hole under the table.
she even waits all day to use her litter tray as she won't come out if me or my children are in.
Any tips on helping her overcome her fear would be great.

susanm9006

Lola
Top Cat
Purraise
The flinching and hiding doesn't necessarily mean that she was abused. It can simply be that she was not socialized or poorly socialized as a kitten, or even is just really nervous about being in a new home. The best you can do to help her is to give her space and time to adjust. Let her approach you, move slowly and speak softly to her and recognize that it might take months or even longer before she begins to relax and enjoy your company.

neely

May the purr be with you
Veteran
Purraise