Food & Attention Aggression

Anumidium

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I recently adopted two cats from my local shelter. I love them both to bits and I really want the best for them, but I’m new to cat ownership and I’m not sure if I’m doing the right things or not.

They seem to be settling in but I’m having issues with them being very competitive for attention and food. My one girl is very dominant and will intimidate the other away from any food bowl where he is eating, and will interject herself into petting sessions and groom the other one until he gets annoyed enough to leave. She doesn’t actually want to be petted herself, though, and is generally very aversive to being touched. This has led the other one to be quite needy and always wanting my attention and not feeling safe eating unless I am watching.

These two knew each other from their previous home. They are both around 5 years old (not siblings). My one girl, Jessie, who is dominating and unfriendly, has some health issues and is in a lot of discomfort. She’s overweight and has some arthritis and feline acne on her chin. She’s had a vet visit and the vet recommended strict mealtimes but I’ve had trouble implementing that (see below). The other one, Sunny, is also a bit overweight but other than that is in pretty good health.