Flies

jeanw

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi everyone - I've been feeding a stray/feral colony for several years. Used to have some help with it but I do all of it now. There are sometimes as many as 38 cats ready to eat when I bring out the food. It's not at my house - someone else's house in the county. I'm working on getting them fixed and have rescued 5 who were sick or injured and have kept them as inside pets.

My question - even though it's early in the warm season it's already very hot here in southern Arizona. The flies have suddenly become a really massive problem. They've been bad for a week - today was the worst. The water bowls were disgusting and filled with gross leftover water and lots and lots of dead flies. The food and water are on a patio just outside the back door of the house.

Does anyone here know what works?

I read this today but have no idea if it would be effective - "Using lemons and cloves to keep common house flies away is an easy and fast remedy, as flies can't stand the smell of either. Use two lemons and cut them into halves. Then insert between six and 12 cloves directly into the lemon halves. Place the lemons, which almost look like a decoration, on a plate near your meal. No flies will bother you"

Then I just saw this - It says it's safe for pets and has a 30 day money back guarantee. Thoughts?

Pest Destruct.png

WHILE OTHER FLY REPELLENTS are not pet-friendly, don't really work and smell bad, the Pest Destruct Ultrasonic Fly Repellent works silently for the human ear, does not smell, perfectly eliminates flies and 100% safe for children and pets.

HOW IT WORKS - This Ultrasonic Fly Repellent works on a biological level by sending out ultrasonic waves to send unwanted flies and other unwanted guests back to nature. This means no dead flies, bugs or rodents for you to clean out of your house! One repellent covers an area of 100-800 sqft.