First time kitten owner

mycatpaulie

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hello. I am really excited, after loosing my sweet Palmer in December I have finally found a kitten that I really like. She is a 10 month old rescued brown tabby, I am thinking of fable or feather for her name. I adopted Palmer when he was almost 3 so This is my first time owning a kitten. Is there advice I should know, I am not picking her up until next week. I am wondering what type of food is good for this age kitten and if I need to do anything special to make sure that she knows where her litter box is. I am going to keep her in my bedroom for a few days so she is not overwhelmed. Amy advice would be apprciated!

Maurey

Maine Coon Madness
Top Cat
Purraise
At 10 months, a high quality (high protein, low carb) wet food will work just fine, imo. Most cats will slow down growing at that age, as your average cat will be, more or less, full grown by a year, so they don't really need the high calories of kitten food.

For good wet foods to use in a rotation, I'd suggest looking into Smalls, Tiki Cat, Ziwi Peak, and Just Food for Cats. For a more budget option Authority and Weruva have some pretty good formulations, with Authority being the cheaper option, if memory serves.

Catfooddb and AllAboutCats have some great comprehensive breakdowns and reviews of most US cat foods, and I'd suggest taking a look! AllAboutCats does a better job explaining things comprehensively, while CatFoodDB is just an at-a-glance breakdown of ingredient and nutritional quality.

Keeping her in a smaller isolated space is definitely a good idea! Young cats tend to bounce back after a move much quicker than fully grown cats, but every cat is different.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

mycatpaulie

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise