First Time Helping A Queening Stray (please Help!)

HappyCatMama

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I'm a very long-winded writer and this is my first post, so I will try to be succinct. (Disclaimer: though this was my intent, I just finished writing the post, and it turned out very long anyway. I hope you'll still read on, please.)

Over 1 month ago a pregnant Mama Cat (MC) & a small kitten (BC) show up at our door. We have a 6 year old cat who is our beloved fur-child; he deserves a more full introduction, (maybe best saved for another post). In the interim, we have been able to take the BC (baby cat) to the vet for a well-check and immunizations. We have committed to foster her, and she is living in sequestration until she and our cat can become friends (a topic for another post as well!). The MC (mama cat) came and went for a while, staying away for days at a time, returning famished. We of course fed her and have tried to give her the best care possible.

Upon one of her return visits we noticed that she was most definitely pregnant. We upped the quality and frequency of her food (wet & dry). I placed a cardboard box with fluffy clean white towels out over 2 weeks ago for her nesting/birthing box. She always preferred our doormat, the yard, or the hard concrete of our sidewalk to the comfortable nesting box. Don't think she ever even touched it.

Fast forward to today. I have been on pins and needles, monitoring her, immersing myself into research in hopes of becoming the best feline mid-wife/doula I could be for her. From day 1 she was very friendly, eager to be petted, and in the last several days had stuck extra close and began looking like she wanted to come inside. Who can blame her? It is intolerably hot during the day and she has been ready to pop.