Feliway - Long term use?

lucentstreak

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi there,

I'm writing just to generally ask about Feliway and if anyone has used it for long term.

I started on Feliway with Hugo because we had a semi rough start where he would bite and scratch my hands for the first 2 weeks that he was with me. After that, I decided to give Feliway a try and have kept it going for the last 3 months. While I would say that it worked to calm him down, I'm just wondering if when and how long should one use Feliway for and if a cat or kitten will become psychologically dependent on it.

betsygee

Just what part of meow don't you understand.
Staff Member
Purraise
I keep a Feliway diffuser in my cat room all the time.  

One of our "newbies" (we've had him a year now) is just a stressed sort of cat--he's deaf, he has IBD, he has had aggression issues in the past.  I think it helps keep his environment feel safer and calmer for him.  I'm not an expert on Feliway, but I wouldn't think there's any dependence.

I do from time to time unplug it, air out the room, and then re-plug in a fresh one.

barbgee

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I've been wondering about Feliway and how to manage the windows now that Spring is here.  I have Kitty upstairs, with run of the two bedrooms, and have a diffuser in each one.  Now that it's getting nice outside, I want to open the windows, but it occurs to me that all the Feliway will blow out of the room.  I really wish they had a solid version, or something with more local action other than the spray or the diffusers.  I'm going through a refill about every 3 weeks, and these aren't huge rooms with high ceilings, but I do have a forced air furnace, so I'm sure that's contributing to the rapid use.  We're on about our 3rd month with Feliway in use, and it took at least a week to begin to see some changes in her behavior, but she is much calmer now.