Extremely Picky Cat

arabellie

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello!

I'm new to feeding raw food, I have three cats - one with behavioral problems, one with FIC that is currently doing very well on Purina UR and one that is very picky. I was feeding Purina ProPlan True Nature wet with dry as a "puzzle/treat". Lexi was still having issues with struvites. Mason and Arabella were both eating it fine.

Due to some roommate drama Lexi stayed with a friend for a while and I bought a cheaper dry food for the other cats. Purina One Shredded Blend turned out to be like crack for my picky eater. Ever since then Arabella refuses to touch most wet and raw food. Sometimes I can trick her into eating it if I put some dry food on top.

I decided to switch to raw for Mason's behavioral issues - he's doing great on it. I figured it might be more enticing for Arabella. I was wrong.

So far I have been buying a variety of commercial brands and flavors of raw food. Arabella is slightly more receptive to the rabbit flavors, it seems. Right now I put a teaspoon of whatever brand/flavor of raw that Mason is eating that day, with a tablespoon of one of her "favorite" tikicat flavors, and maybe a teaspoon of dry food sprinkled on top. She eats it maybe 40% of the time. Sometimes she eats it better if she skips a meal, but I don't want to starve her.

So, TLDR; would it be wrong to feed only one type of protein if that's all she'll eat? (rabbit). Any suggestions on how I could feed her differently to transition her? It's been maybe three weeks now and I feel like we're getting nowhere. I haven't tried chunks of meat yet or home cooked food but I'll maybe try those next.

orange&white

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise