Experience with fluoxetine?

Freddieandchip

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
My cat was recently prescribed fluoxetine and I was just wondering how other peoples experience with this medication was. He is taking it for anxiety, he developed cystitis due to his anxiety so from now on he will be on medication and a prescription diet. I work in the human medical field so I’m familiar with the medication, I’ve just never had a cat that takes any anxiety medication so I’d like to hear how other peoples experience was giving this to their cats :). He has been crying a lot lately and I can’t find any specific cause for his anxiety so I’m really hoping this helps

silent meowlook

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
This is a tough question, and it all depends on your cat and situation.

Short answer is that yes, I have seen Fluoxetine (Prozac) used to treat, usually aggression, in cats before. with varied results, usually good. Of course, nothing is without side effects as you know. And unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, there haven't been many studies on cats with many different drugs that are used on them. If studies are done, they are extremely limited.

I am going to assume that all other medical causes of his urinary problems have been ruled out with blood work, urinalysis and ultrasound.

I looked at some of the other posts and I think I understand a bit more. Your cat is around 2 to 3 years, neutered male and is an indoor cat living with you and your boyfriend and 2 other cats. It looks like your cat may have some issues with ECG (eosinophilic granuloma complex) but you have done your best with no plastic dishes and now he is on a urinary diet. It also looks like he was bottle raised by you and all the cats get along well. Is all this right? If not, please let me know.