Does he have Maine Coon in him?

Tracyrdz

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
This is my little Loki. One of 3 kittens I love to pieces. He is such a sweet cat and follows me around and sleeps with me at 5 months old. He is the only one in the litter to have the lynx tip ears this big. They all seem big for their age to me but I am no expert. The 1 female of the group was alot smaller so I figured she must be the runt but with the ears on Loki, I am thinking maybe they are bigger and have a little Maine Coon in them. I'd love to hear some opinions :)

Attachments

sivyaleah

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Loki is a domestic short hair, bicolor red and white tabby. He looks a lot like a cat we had a while ago.
Lynx tips don't mean he has any Maine Coon in him, it's quite common in cats although a bit more unusual to see them on a short hair cat.
Being as I have a Maine Coon and am familiar with their standards, honestly I do not see anything about his facial appearance that would lead me to think he has any MC in him.
It would be highly unlikely to have any purebred cat in his background. Good breeders just don't let their cats get out to randomly breed with street cats plus purebred cats only account for approx. 3-5% of all cats worldwide. The odds really are not there.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Tracyrdz

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I mean I know he isn't a purebred but thought maybe there was a MC in the breeding line somewhere to get the long hairs on the tips of his ears. I just haven't seen a cat with ears like that, like you said, on a short haired cat. Regardless of what he is, he is a sweet little baby.

Meowmee

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise