'Crazy Cat Lady'

emma25

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello all,

I'm Emma and I am currently studying Graphic Design at university. My love for cats has led to me dedicating my current project to them, and I would love your input!

My project focuses on the stereotype of the 'crazy cat lady' and the fact that 56% of people think that having the negative stigma removed will result in more cats being adopted.

As part of my research stage I am hoping to gather some feedback from cat owners and would greatly appreciate it if anyone could answer these questions or just reply with any fun or unusual things they do with their cats. For example, take them on walks or celebrate their birthdays.

What do you think of when I say 'crazy cat lady'?

Would you say the term is positive or negative?

Would you call yourself a crazy cat lady?

Any unusual cat accessories/clothes?

Do you have any cat related knicknacks in your house? For example: cat tea towels 

Cat stories or anything else would also be very helpful, thank you so much for your time!

Emma x

donutte

Professional cat sitter extraordinaire!
Top Cat
Purraise
Hi Emma. Just wanted to say that I think that is a great topic for a project! Will answer your questions and then try to give some of my own stories to help. I've had cats since I was born, and don't know what it is like to NOT have cats, nor do I ever want to know what that's like. 

I think if I were to have a picture in my head, it would be a cartoon of a older woman with frazzled grey hair holding several cats, and surrounded by even more all rubbing on her and meowing. Mainly because that seems to be how others have depicted it. Every person I've known that dubbed themselves a "crazy cat lady" was someone who had pets and absolutely loved all of them. They also spend time helping other animals (not just cats) have better lives.

I don't consider it a bad thing. It's not the same as a "hoarder". Unfortunately too many people equate the two, which is sad.