Constipated/stuck Stool

dhammagirl

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I’ve been feeding Zeke raw food for almost 4 years, and it’s gone well. I’ve managed to get him down from over 20lbs to almost 15lbs. He’s 8 years old.

But today, he was seriously straining to poop, wandering through the house clearly in distress, even laying on his side and straining. It hadn’t been that long since he last pooped, and I thought I could see a stool kinda sticking out, and liquid was passing around the poop when he strained. He barfed, 8hours after eating breakfast, after straining hard to poop.

Concerned about the effects of him continuing to strain, I took him to the emergency vet.
They removed some hard stool, and did an xray, since we were concerned that he might have an obstruction from eating plastic or something, and to see how seriously he was constipated.

She pointed out some bits in his stomach on the xray, might be plastic, might be bone bits. I had previously said he’s fed raw, and that includes some bones and ground bones.
She said she doesn’t believe in feeding raw, and that constipation can be a consequence. I said I’m aware that too much bone can cause constipation.

She asked if I had had his diet evaluated by a professional pet nutritionist, which I have not. But I do add a feline supplement. She strongly encouraged it; just because he’s been doing okay on the diet for 4 years doesn’t mean there might not be issues. I tried to not take it personally.

How many of y’all have had your cat’s diet analyzed by a professional pet nutritionist?

They gave him an enema and subcutaneous fluids.
His xrays don’t indicate serious constipation, like completely blocking the colon.

She’s recommending I give him 1/4 teaspoon Miralax powder daily to help with constipation.

I guess that’s preferable to going through this again.

Anyone else had a similar experience?
Do any of y’all use Miralax powder to keep your kitties non-constipated?