Constantly wanting to play and constantly misbehaving

gotlembas

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi all! It's been a while since I've written here, but I'm hoping to seek some advice about some behavior-related issues with my youngest cat, Arwen. She's 9 months old and has an older brother, Pippin, who is just over a year old. I work a typical 9-5 and live alone in a studio, so the cats are left alone from 7a-3:30p. When I get home I feed them both and then afterwards I play with both of them a bit until they're panting and laying down from the exercise. As soon as they're good and tired is when I usually try to get some me-time in after work (I work in healthcare and it's a very draining job sometimes), but lately Arwen has been wanting to play all the time. I can't sit down for 5 minutes without her trying to bite cords, scale my bookshelves and knocking things off, or misbehaving in other ways to get my attention. She cries and cries and I feel like I'm not playing with her enough, but I can give both of them 2 or 3 10-15 minute play sessions after work and it still seems to not be enough for Arwen. Pippin seems fine, but Arwen is, for lack of a better term, balls to the walls and never gets tired!

It's caused me to feel grumpy lately because I do play with her and give her attention, but she's so restless and never quits misbehaving no matter how much I play with her or how much attention I give her. I have some cat cameras set up and I can see that while I'm gone, she and Pippin love to chase each other around my apartment in the morning so I know they play together while I'm gone, but while that seems to be enough to satisfy Pippin's energy requirements it doesn't satisfy Arwen's. There are times when I have zoom meetings and such and need her to not bother me and be quiet, but she behaves like a holy terror the minute I'm not paying attention to her. If I can somehow get her to take a nap, I count myself lucky lol.