considering switching to raw

tewing84

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Lately Ive been reading and watching videos on feeding cats raw food and starting to try and make the transision. Since Im still new to this and the raw food at the pet store is so expensive Im not going to switch right away, having 3 cats gets expensive lol. I did buy a small 8oz tub of rad cat chicken to let my cats test it out. One loved it, one seems ok with it, and the 3rd didnt want anything to do with it lol. Luckily the one that loves it is the one Im more interested in getting to switch right away as he is my overweight cat...he is 18 lbs (he seems to carry it well).

Anyways, I have a few questions on getting started:

1. What other brands of raw food is there that is similiar to rad cat?
2. Is it much cheaper to make my own and if so how much is it costing you per cat per month?
3. Where are good places to go to buy the meats to make my own?

Main thing I noticed is the price is really high and according to the feeding recommendations on rad cat I estimated that I would be spending $450 a month on 3 cats. Thats more than double what I spend now which is roughly $200 a month..depending if I have to buy the dry food that month. Canned alone costs me $150..and thats feeding them Merrick Limited Ingredients twice a day and a purina brand once a day. But price of rad cat is why Im considering making my own.

Last edited:

mschauer

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Rad Cat id pretty much in a class of it's own. That's why it is so expensive.

Feline's Pride is probably as high in quality but many, many people have been having customer service nightmares with them for the last few months. I really wouldn't take a chance on them until they have proved they have changed their ways.

Nature's Variety, Stella and Chewy's, Bravo are all other, less expensive, choices. You can just Google "raw pet food" and see what other options may be available to you.