Considering Feeding Raw

mikameek

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
I wanted to come here to consult with people that feed raw about potentially switching my cat over to a raw diet.
My cat Mika has always been really picky about what she eats when it came to dry and wet food but she has always seemed to have a real interest in the meat that we eat at dinner.
She is especially fond of steak.
How do I start feeding her raw? Can I feed her steak? Does everything that is fed need to actually be raw?
What is best to feed raw? I know that there needs to be supplements added in but what kinds?

I am a complete novice when it comes to raw feeding and what goes into it so any information I could get would be so awesome! Thank you in advance.

MargoLane

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
If you want to try raw, I would start with a commercial raw diet. They are complete diets with the supplements already mixed in. They are more expensive than making your own raw, but that way you can see if Mika likes it.

If you want to start feeding raw, there are a couple of ways you can do it. If after you've done your research, you decide you want to feed an all-raw diet the first thing to do is to slowly cut out the dry and switch to all canned. Then, if your cat is happy and healthy on all canned, you very slowly start mixing small amount of raw food into the canned. You increase the portion of raw just a little each day, until you can cut canned out entirely. This can be a long process!

You can start with some freeze dried raw for the transition; I think it smells most like canned so they recognize it as food. That's what I did. Now I feed mostly frozen raw. I also keep some canned and freeze-dried raw as well as the air-dried Ziwi peak in the rotation. As long as it's high protein, moderate fat, very low carb and agrees with my buddy, I'll feed it. Some people also do home cooked or graduate to making their own raw.

LTS3

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise