Clawing.

karleem

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Alright, so one of my boys is a clawer and no matter what I do, he claws at my chair. I'm tired of putting tape on every piece of furniture I own. So I was wondering. What are some thoughts on the claw caps? I've been interested in them for awhile but don't know if my boys will chew or rip their claws off to get the cap off of them. And go!

tulosai

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
I have no experience with them but I think it can't hurt to try. Some of our members and a few people I know in real life have had very good experiences with them.  The worst that could happen is that they don't work for your cat and then you're just back to square one anyway (and out a little money, I suppose, but I think it's worth the risk).

Also see this article for a few more ideas that might work for you. http://www.thecatsite.com/a/problem-scratching-and-how-to-stop-it

lamiatron

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
Alright, so one of my boys is a clawer and no matter what I do, he claws at my chair. I'm tired of putting tape on every piece of furniture I own. So I was wondering. What are some thoughts on the claw caps? I've been interested in them for awhile but don't know if my boys will chew or rip their claws off to get the cap off of them. And go!
i read great reviews on products like soft claws and others out there...claw caps. 

the few reviews i read were good enough to make me go out and buy a pack of them. However, after buying them. i did more research (about how to put them on) and i came across 1 negative review that changed my mind...

Someone wrote that their cat actually bit off the claw cap, swallowed it, and needed surgery to remove it, because it was stuck inside and the cat was not passing it naturally...

could her case have been the exception? sure. 

does that mean that would happen to both of my cats? maybe not, but maybe it could.