Cat Training Tips

Joey's mom

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I have shared my home with cats for more than 45 yrs, mostly taken off the streets, after vetted, trained for socialization including introduction to toys. According the vet each cat was at least 3yrs old. It only took a couple of months for them to also learn they will be exclusively indoors. Perhaps it was easier because they were so happy to be rescued. Recently adopted 2 siblings raised as kittens from a foster. I did not know fosters work and don't devote as much time as shelter cats receive. Having difficult time training these 2 (male/female). I am not an expert but do believe learning/training begins in t he kitten state. I'm not saying these 2 didn't receive proper care, but not what's necessary to make them loving cats. They cannot be picked up, groomed, the female will sit on my lap occasionally, likes to be petted. The male cannot be petted, he will bite/scratch, will never sit on my lap. As far as behavior they are approx 1 yr old, doing what cats do at that young age. I believe the male didn't receive as much attention as the female. Any tips on how I can win over the male. It's almost 6 months. Never had this problem before. All my cats were loving, socialized, friendly, prior to these the last 2 were adopted from a shelter and they were the best of all, lived to 17 and 20, became best friends, never fought. These 2 fight all the time (I don't intervene) with loud screams. Anyone out there having/had the same problems I'm having with these 2. The rescue group has no interest, nor provides any info. Thanks, E laine

ArtNJ

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Loud screams is troubling. Fur pulled out? Did you do a formal introduction process? Do you use any calming products?