Cat Products Aren't Made for Cats?

nchat

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone! I'm an owner of a tabby cat named Pumpkin and I've had him for about 6 years now. As the years have gone by I have noticed that cat products are not really made for cats or with cat owners in mind. Many times these products get destroyed easily or fall apart within a year (cat trees). Plus, aesthetically, they look awful.

As a student product designer, I feel that I should do something about this and start designing products that actually function well and look nice. I've been thinking a lot about cat trees but obviously, I would love to solve the most pressing problems for cat owners.

If any of you have advice (or just plain out grievances with current products) I'd really appreciate some insight. If you have any problems with cat products I would love to hear them! I hope this doesn't feel like spamming –– I am genuinely interested in designing products for cats, as a cat owner, that don't seem like an afterthought.

Thanks! I look forward to the conversation 😸

DeesCats

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
My cat absolutely loves the Pet Fit for Life worms for use with wands but absolutely shreds the material within a week . I'd love to see something similar made with tougher material that can withstand claws, teeth and heavy play and not be easy to ingest.

I'd also love to see more durable cat toys made in the U.S. but that's a whole other story.

heatherwillard0614

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I had recently got a new cat tree and for 1 the climbing areas are not really feasible for a cat unless they get on the very edge or jump and climb to get up to the top. It is also not wide enough in my opinion. I love the height of this one and the length but the width is just a little too small.
I have seen some cat trees where the base isn't large enough causing it to tip over easily especially if there are baskets for the cat to lay in.