cat got mosquito bite

skrumtuoscatlayd

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Hi this morning my cats nose had a colorless bump which later developed redness. I think it is a mosquito bite but it is my first time seeing it on my cat. Is there any cure? Would it complicate to hypersensitivity or would it go away on its own in few days?
VideoCapture_20231024-205946.jpg
VideoCapture_20231024-205941.jpg

backwoodsvet

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I see mosquito's attacking my strays all the time but never seen anything like that, YET, I'm sure.....So I'm let someone that's dealt with this before help but it might help someone on a cure to know some things like,is the cat drinking and eating O.K.? is the cat acting normal ?
If I was able to help, which I can't, these are some of the things that might be asked, more info would'nt hurt...........

di and bob

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
With swelling like that, I would bet more on a wasp, bee, or spider bite. It should go down in a few days. If it doesn;t a vet check would be advised to check for a nasal polyp or something else in his nasal passage. I had cats with swelling like that from a wasp sting, and he started shaking meaning he was allergic. Thank goodness I had some Benadryl on hand to give him, 1 mg per lb of cat weight. I had to crush it and put it in water and give it with a syringe, his mouth foamed terribly, but he got better. It would have been better to hide pieces in a pill pocket or some kind of treat like cheese or tuna, It is awfully bitter though. It's good to keep some around for emergencies. I hope he gets better soon!

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

skrumtuoscatlayd

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I see mosquito's attacking my strays all the time but never seen anything like that, YET, I'm sure.....So I'm let someone that's dealt with this before help but it might help someone on a cure to know some things like,is the cat drinking and eating O.K.? is the cat acting normal ?