Cat Balding near eyes and ears

Drewster

Single cat dad
Young Cat
Purraise
My cat is balding between his eyes and his ears, i dont see any redness and he hasnt be scratching it or anything, it doesnt seem to bother him. I read it may be facial alocpicia and since he is a snowshoe with siemeese backround that may be what it is but im still new to being a cat parent so im still learning as i go here. I dont know his exact age since he was a abandonded stray i took in but vet says hes 3-4 years old if that helps any. Thanks for any advice, just looking for second opinions so i dont have to make the daunting hassle it is to take him to the vet ( he doesnt like the vet)

Attachments

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi!
My boy, who is a lot older, has something similar although not quite to this degree (maybe depending on the light I look at it).

I wonder, since there's no redness or itchiness whether he went through a period of nutritional lack and it's visually apparent as this? Is he grooming his head a lot?

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Drewster

Single cat dad
Young Cat
Purraise
He hasnt been grooming more than normal. This is also in direct light, its not as extreme in different angles but still noticable, i was looking back at photos and maybe i just havent noticed it and since the sun is out its easier to see because the sun really doesnt come out a lot here in the pacific northwest this time of year.

Attachments

FeebysOwner

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise