Caring for injured feral

anothercatlady

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I have been feeding and caring for a feral for 8 years. She's about 9 years old now. Until last Saturday she lived outside in or under a shed. Hated to be shut in anywhere! But, after the first year of patience, she trusts me enough to get into my lap. Loves to be petted. Again, in the past, as long as she had an escape route and I did nothing to startled her.

When  she arrived Saturday evening, she followed me into my mudroom and got into my lap. I discovered she had two large and nasty looking puncture wounds on her back.  Long story short, she is now (Monday) in my basement. Due to the weather the earliest I can get her to the vet is Wednesday. She has not had a rabies shot since 9/2011. Under state law she will have to be quarantined for 6 months.

Any suggestions on how to care for her short-term an long-term (6 months)? 

shadowsrescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
Thank you so much for caring for her and taking such good care of her.  She is lucky to have you.  First off you can try to gently wash the wound with soap and warm water.  You can just gently blot it with a cotton ball.  If it is in a location she can't reach to lick, you can apply some antibiotic ointment.  You also can call the vet back and ask what you should be doing at home for her.  You are fortunate you are able to get her to the vet.  My feral, Shadow was attacked last winter and I was unable to get him to a vet.  He too had not had a rabies shot in a few years.  I am able to pet him too and he also crawls in my lap, but I cannot pick him up.  I used some homeopathic remedies on him and was able to talk with my vet about what I should look out for. 

I hope she will do well until Wednesday, but it might be worth a call to the vet to see what they recommend.

Keep us posted.

di and bob

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise