Car Or Plane W/ Special Needs Feral Mom & Her Kitten

Jennah1028

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello, I attempted to TNR a feral mom cat & have her kitten vetted for an injured leg. Mom ended up with aspiration pneumonia & slightly congested heart from the surgery. I wouldn't allow euthanization like the vet recommended. Her baby, now approx 4 mo old, had to have her hind leg amputated. I cannot pet them but they like living indoors and human company. I've been caring for them for 3 months. They're seriously attached and I think that's been helping to domesticate them, but they have a ways to go still. Their health is now better and stable and someone is interested in adopting them together but they're in Minnesota and we're in New York. The drive would be 18.5 hours plus resting, which would mean 2 days of driving. Flying would be about 3 hours plus security and check-in. Flying would be shorter but complicated because the kitties would have to be checked by TSA, which would be impossible, because they cannot be handled. They would also have to get a clean bill of health to fly beforehand, which requires them to be sedated. Altogether, they each would have been anesthetized and sedated more than 4 times since July, which is a lot on momma's heart and her kittens little organs. The plus side of flying is the duration is much shorter than driving. On the other hand, driving requires many hours and possible sedation as well, maybe more than once too. My hope is that if they're together for the long drive, with room to move in their cage, that they may be okay. I'm desperately seeking advice on which is the more advisable method of transport in this case. Thank you kindly.

shadowsrescue

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
There are pet transportation courier services that specialize in transporting pets. I knew someone who used the service to transport 8 cats from NJ to NC. It might be worth looking into.

dragonlady2

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise