Can A Cat Be Happy As An Only Cat?

treeclimber

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
Sometimes I wonder if my cat (5 year old neutered male) is lonely.

I work from home a lot, and he likes to lay under my desk and keep me company while I'm working, and sleeps in the bed with me at night. When he's not sleeping, he likes to follow me around the apartment and watch what I'm doing.

I'm not in a situation where I can adopt a second cat. Both finances and living situation (I'm a student - a few times a year we go stay with my parents for a few weeks, who have two cats of their own and have made it clear that their house has a limit of three cats total!)

I have been thinking about fostering, but *only* if it's what's best for my current kitty. I don't know if fostering would give him a companion and make him happier, or if he wouldn't like sharing his toys/food/human attention with another cat. I also don't think rescues would appreciate "hey, I'm going home for a few weeks and my parents won't let me bring my foster cat, can you take him/her back for a little while?"...

Do you think an only cat can be happy/healthy, or should I try to find a way to make the fostering thing work?

susanm9006

Willow
Top Cat
Purraise
Not only can a cat be happy as an “only” but some cats can only be happy as an only, especially as they mature. They love their family, they love their routines and they love their territory. A newcomer just disrupts that all. I have had cats who actually seemed happier when they lost a long time companion. So don’t feel guilty or feel you need to get a buddy, in your situation one can be just fine.

1CatOverTheLine

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Not only can a cat be happy as an “only” but some cats can only be happy as an only, especially as they mature.