Bonded pair fighting aggressively

mitsismoke

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hey all, I'm a college student with two cats (Theo and Ollie) who are not blood related but have been bonded since they were very young. I adopted them together and immediately found out they are two extremely sweet and affectionate boys. When they were younger, they would cuddle often and playfight at times, though it never got aggressive. They were always so sweet to each other and would groom, eat, and sleep together. I've been busy and working/going to school in the past months, which means I'm not always home as much. Recently, I've noticed Theo has some scabs and, at times, open wounds on his neck (never bigger than the pad of my finger, but still look alarming). They had fleas recently which I treated with revolution - it was a very mild case - but this predates that. They fight pretty often, with Theo usually being the one to initiate it, going after Ollie when Ollie doesn't seem to want to be bothered. Theo is a very energetic and athletic cat with a very mischievous side to him - he revels in knocking over my trashcans and biting my feet when he wants me awake - but Ollie is larger and a lot more mellow and lazy. I notice that when Theo goes after him, Ollie plays for a minute, until it seems that Theo takes it too far. Ollie will cry and try to run away, but Theo is relentless and continues going after him. I'm wondering if these marks are from Ollie biting him out of frustration? I've seen Theo bite Ollie sometimes when they're grooming each other, but it doesn't seem hard enough to hurt Ollie, just enough to annoy him and make him walk away. They have lots of toys around the apartment, a cat tree, a bench, scratching posts, and a hammock. I should play with them more often, but my schedule sometime interferes with that. I don't think it's necessarily from a lack of stimulation, but I could be wrong - maybe he is bored. Also, they are both neutered and aren't ever around other cats