Bizarre behavior and getting worse!

lizi59

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
First, I'm a newbie to this forum. I've tried to keep this as short as possible, but I apologize up front for the length of this post.

I've always had at least two cats all my life - and we're talking a LOT of years here - but I've never come across anything like this! Right now we have 4 cats ages 5 through 10. They get along fine with only the usual occasional squabbles. All are indoor cats.

The one I'm writing about, Clyde, is a 10 year old black and white tuxedo cat. As a kitten he attached to me, which I've heard is not uncommon for these cats. Over the years, though, he's gradually become more and more attached, and it's gotten to the point that I feel like I'm being stalked

He follows me everywhere, not an uncommon behavior. But this goes way beyond that. No matter what room I'm in he's right there, watching me. If I'm sitting on the couch he'll sit on the coffee table right in front of me and stare at me. If he's in my lap and I need to get up, he puts all his weight against me so I can't move him. If he falls asleep and I happen to leave that room, when he wakes up he goes through the house meowing/crying. Of course he's right up against me when I'm in bed. I always get up once or twice during the night. He used to stay in bed, but now he gets up and follows me. He'll position himself in a spot where he can see me no matter which route I take back to the bedroom. AND if I'm in bed he either waits until I get up to go eat or use the box. If he can't wait, he'll look very closely at my face to make sure I'm asleep, run down the hall to do one or both, and race back. I woke up one night last week but didn't move, just opened my eyes, and instead of sleeping in his usual "right up against me" position, he was sitting there staring at me!

Today he added a new one. I'm out of work and tend to stay up late which of course means I sometimes sleep a little late.