Basic raw menu to start with

my-boy-jasper

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
I have been introducing my kitten Jasper to raw food for a few months now. He is about 8-9 months old and weighs 4.5kgs (9.9 pounds)and doesn't look overweight (though he has a decent layer of fat on him). I am currently feeding him a mix of canned, commercial raw, and raw chunks of meat. He has a good appetite and a typical day looks a bit like this:

6am - 100gms (3.5oz) canned food.

11am - 50gms (1.75oz) canned or commercial raw

4pm - 50gms (1.75oz) canned or commercial raw

8pm - 50 - 100gms (1.75 - 3.5oz) raw meat or commercial raw

And maybe a late night snack if he had smaller meals during the day and he seems hungry.

He will happily eat chicken liver, chicken heart, chicken giblets, beef kidney, and chicken, beef, and kangaroo meat. He will eat chicken necks only if I smash them up and cut into two pieces. Well he might eat it whole but not without running around the house with it first.

Assuming he ends up weighing about 5.5kgs (12 pounds) as an adult, and I feed him up to 4% of body weight, that would be 220gms (7.8oz) per day. Is that too much? He is currently eating about 300gms (10.5oz) a day but I will start reducing his meal sizes over the next few months.

I have been gradually increasing the amount of raw meat I give him over the last month and so it's really time I start balancing it properly. I think for simplicities sake I will start by giving him 100gms (3.5oz) of balanced raw each day, using the frankenprey model. And the rest will be canned or commercial raw. Then when I am more confident I will increase the daily proportion of frankenprey raw.