Away From Cats For Too Long?

Callaloo

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi everyone,

I have 2 4-month old kittens. I currently work full-time which means I'm out of the house for 9+ hours a day. Right now I feed the kittens immediately before I leave for work in the morning, immediately after I return, and before bed. I was thinking of taking up a part-time job. I'd go home after my full-time job, feed the kittens, go to work for maybe 4-5 hours and come back. Is this too much time away? Do the kittens need more human interaction? Or would it be okay because they have each other and are not alone? I'm new to cats so am not sure.

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi! Can you set up a camera so you could see what they do when you're away? I think that because they have each other, they probably entertain each other pretty well.

Can you put out some kitten kibble? They're very young yet and need to eat as much as possible to help provide the nutritional demands of developing bones, teeth, brains, digestive systems, muscles...that overnight stretch of time is a little long for little tummies.

You could set up a timed feeder to open sometime in the middle of the night, or maybe arrange a setup where there's an icepack underneath the food dish.

You could also utilize a timed feeder so you wouldn't have to go home, unless that works out for you but I could envision it might get tight timewise some days, and if you had a timed feeder ready to go it'd be a lot less stressful for you.

Also, this might help for some general things;
First-time Cat Owner's Guide

and, something here might help;
How To Choose The Best Toy For Your Cat

20 Best Interactive Cat Toys: The Ultimate List (2018) | Heavy.com

Home - the Ripple Rug

Food Puzzles for Cats

How To Make Your Home Bigger (at Least For Your Cats)

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

Callaloo

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise