Asthmatic elderly kitty

FriendofFerals

Cat Mommy
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi!
So I have a former feral (3 years indoors now...estimated to be 16-18 years old) and after treating all his parasites and other issues, it's clear he has numerous environmental and food allergies as well as asthma. I've been giving him the Aerokat inhaler with albuterol as needed, and we started on steroid injections every 6 weeks to keep his inflammation at bay, but after a bad recent flare-up where the inhaler just wasn't working, a different vet from our usual one recommended Flovent instead of albuterol. He said it's expensive but you can get it cheaper out of Canada. I'm new to the asthma game...I'm more knowledgeable about diabetes, kidney disease, trigeminal nerve pain, and dental issues in cats, but the asthma thing is new. Does anyone here use Flovent in an inhaler on their kitty and would you agree it's better than albuterol? :lovecat2:

silent meowlook

TCS Member
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
Hi, I use the Flovent, and albuterol. The Flovent is the steroid, so that is used daily and the albuterol is for an actual asthma attack. In the event the albuterol doesn’t stop the attack, I also have terbutaline in injectable form to give.

I don’t need to use the Flovent since my cat started Prednisolone for other issues.

Furballsmom

Cat Devotee
Staff Member
Forum Helper
Purraise
I've been giving him the Aerokat inhaler with albuterol as needed, and we started on steroid injections every 6 weeks to keep his inflammation at bay, but after a bad recent flare-up where the inhaler just wasn't working, a different vet from our usual one recommended Flovent instead of albuterol.
Hi, so which steroid were you using?

lisahe

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise