Anyone Have Experience With A Cat That Had Fho Surgery?

mebae

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I was playing with my cat and he fell in a weird way off a chair and broke both of his hips so he needed to have a Double FHO. Anyone had experience with the recovery process?

He gets his stitches out in a few days, but I'm concerned because when he walks he still kind of crosses up his legs. He is under cage rest, but he walks a few feet to his litter box when he needs to go. I can understand that they are wobbly, but the fact that they are crossing concerns me.

Is this normal? and it is simply because his legs are not strong enough yet?

Cat is either 2 or 3 years old, if this information helps.

Last edited by a moderator:

Margret

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
I have no experience with this surgery so I've been searching the web; unfortunately, there is very little out there about double FHO. The only thing I was able to find about that is this blog: Bentley’s FHO (Femoral Head Ostectomy) experience, and it appears that Bentley had the two hips done in separate surgeries, which reduces the match.

What I found about FHO sounds horrific (completely removing the joint?!), but further reading indicates that it actually isn't as bad as it seems at first blush. This particular website: Homework for cats after FHO surgery- successful cat FHO rehabilitation seemed most helpful in explaining what needs to happen inside your boy's body for him to recover, and how to help the healing process along, but it, also, talks as if only one hip was done. However, here's what I've been able to gather.
  • The ball joints at the top of your cat's femurs have been removed, so the bones in the upper legs no longer reach the socket joints in his hips.
  • Rather than installing some kind of artificial ball at the top of each femur, this surgery relies on scar tissue forming between the femurs and the hips to form new pseudo-socket joints lower down. This has not yet had a chance to happen.