Another newbie here seeking advice.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

FlexR+

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all,

I recently built a house for a feral cat that has been hanging around our neighborhood for the last couple of years (Pittsburgh, PA). It can get pretty cold here in the winter, and after seeing paw prints in the snow in below freezing temps, I decided to build something on my property where it frequents. Well, I built a 3' x 3' house out off plywood & 2x4s with a couple of plexiglass windows and a loft area. It is insulated and lined with straw. I put a webcam in, and within a week, began to have a visitor. It would come about once a day, usually late at night, eat some cat food I put in a bowl there, then go on its way. That happened for about 2 weeks. When watching the footage the other night, I noticed that there is a different cat visiting and eating as well. So, I'm wondering what steps to take next. I'm not sure if they'll fight over the house/space/food, or what. I read about having 2 separate entrances, so I was considering cutting a second hole for another door, but that wouldn't be ideal for my design. Also wondering if I should leave the food outside somehow and leave the house for dwelling (I've seen pics of feeder boxes for more than 1 cat). I'm not trying to attract new/other cats, however, we do have a lot of small animals around here that they could help get rid of for me (mice, chipmunks, moles, etc.). Anyway, I'm new to cats, especially feral ones, so I'll be happy to take any advice anyone might have. Thanks!

poolcat

TCS Member
Adult Cat
Purraise
The problem with putting food out for one cat is that you usually do end up with more than one. And sometimes possums, raccoons -- and skunks, too. Taking up any food once it's eaten may keep wildlife away, but if your feral cat is eating late at night, that could be inconvenient. Is cat #2 coming at the same time? It's possible that they're traveling buddies.