And Now - Cryptococcus.

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaKru

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone!! This is my first time posting on the cat site - I'm really hoping I can get some help or hear about others' personal experiences with crypto... It seems to be a pretty rare disease with only basic information available and very few personal experiences!!

Our 5 yo Main Coon, Merlin, ended his 2 year health streak in July when he first got snuffles, he's a suspected FHV (feline herpres virus) carrier, which turned out to be as a result from a pretty serious gall bladder infection, and all this has lead to a cryptococcus infection. He is receiving subcutaneous amphotericin B twice a week (started last Thursday) for the next 6 to 12 weeks.

The only real information I can find is the basic cause, symptoms, diagnoses and treatment - but nothing on what to expect!! Our vet isn't much help either as she has only ever seen one case of crypto - which was in a dog that she had to euthanase as he was to severely infected. So this is as much a learning experience for her as it is for us!

So if there is anyone else who has had the unfortunate luck of seeing their pet through crytpo - I would love to hear your story and insights!!!!

For those who want to read it.. here is Merlin's story: