Alternatives to Hills Science Prescription Metabolic Food

kurayami

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I have two cats and I feed them Hills Science Prescription Metabolic cat biscuits. Basically one cat is overweight, but the food okay for both cats to be on. However, the food costs me $75 every three weeks for a 3.85kg bag. I could buy in smaller bags more often, but that's just distributing the cost, rather than reducing it. I'm on a limited income and struggle to afford this food, so I need to find an alternative. I'd rather keep both cats on biscuits because it's less maintenance and makes for easier poop to scoop. (I'm a full time law student, so I don't have time to raw feed them - nor the money either). I don't want to give them something crap like whiskas. But I need something a bit cheaper, even half the price would be better than what I'm currently paying.

Any advice?

LTS3

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise
What country are you located in? That would help members find a suitable brand for you. Most TCS members are in the US but there are some European members and several active members from other countries.

JamesCalifornia

Mr.Mom to a house of cats 😇😼
Top Cat
Purraise
I have read that vallerin root is good for overweight cats as it stimulates them to be more active. Check it out on Google.
Also you could consider mixing the expen$ive food with something cheaper but good quality .
Best wishes to you and your kitty cats .

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

kurayami

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Thanks for your replies, I'm located in Australia. Sorry for not specifying.

tobilei

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise