Alternate calcium sources

karma2222

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
I need some help with figuring out what I can use as a calcium sources for my very sensitive kitty in homecooked food. 

Background: Boomer has IBD and is sensitive to ALL but one brand of canned food (nature's variety instinct - pork and rabbit).  I had two flavours I switched between but hey just discontinued one of the flavour and there are rumours they are discontinuing the other as well .... which leaves me with no food I can feed my kitty.  :(  This website helped to determine a lot of his issues are from the thickeners and yes he seems to react to guar gum, agar, carregnan etc.  Cant handle kibble at all - even one piece will throw his digestion way off.  I have been trying to get him on raw for the past 5 years with no luck at all - he chewed on some raw duck meat once but nothing since so I have to cook everything. 

Which leads to my major issue - balancing calcium/phosphorus levels when I cant use the bones since they will be cooked.  He throws up when eating beef so that knocks bone meal out as a supplement.  He also throws up chicken eggs so cant use eggshell, and duck eggs are WAY too pricy to use - $30 a dozen. 

I'm thinking oyster shell is a possibility or can I use bone broth to dissolve the bones before feeding?  If I cook the bones until they crumble and have no sharp pieces and they use all the water they were cooked in .... would that maintain all the calcium in a useable form? I will be using rabbit, duck and pork as proteins since he is good with them - probably heavy on duck since pork sometimes doesn't agree with his tummy and rabbit is super expensive.  I tend to buy a whole duck and roast in oven for 3 hours then pull all the meat off the bones and toss the leftover bones.  Obviously this wastes a bunch of the meat and making bone broth with it would also limit the waste.