Advice on new cat tree/relocating cat tree.

PAZ 3

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello,

I'm new to the cat parenting scene. I have a preexisting cat tree (58") in my living room (it's their first one). My 2 cats love their cat tree and always sleep on it. They also stay half the time downstairs. I have a lot of beds and random boxes for them to lounge in, but it is accumulating spider webs and hair dust balls. SO to clean up the area, I purchased a new, larger/taller cat tree (67") as a new addition. The ceiling in the living room is slightly higher, so I moved the preexisting tree downstairs and kept the new one upstairs. The fur babies were not happy with that at all. They peed on the couch several times and now they only stay downstairs. I feel like they are upset with me or dislike the change/new tree. I even tried to entertain them on it, catnip the tree, put treats on there, their fur chunks and their blanket for scent. They don't seem to budge. It's been a week now, I am contemplating on swapping it back.

Any advice on what you think I should do??

Father of furbabies

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
If you can, try putting the two trees together for a while. The new tree does not have their scent and it is unfamiliar to them. This tends to stress some cats out. If you have the room put them side by side for a while to see if they accept it. If they start using the new one, move the old one a short distance away where it is still in the room but not in their favorite spot and let them make the choice of using the old one or the new one. Give them some time with that setup then move the old tree out of the room and a short distance away to see how they react.

This is a process of them getting comfortable with something new and sometimes it takes time.

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

PAZ 3

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thanks for replying!