3 Week Kitten Not Gaining Weight

Gstar

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi all. Newbie here, every search I do leads me to your site so seems like a good advice, hope I can benefit from.
Unexpectedly my cat had kittens (she was supposed to be spayed!) The runt has never been a great feeder, putting on only a gram or two each day. She also is a very fast breather. Vet checked and she is happy with her, feels as she gets bigger breathing will get better.
Anyway 4 days ago I wormed her with a 3day panacur course, and since she hasn't put on any weight. Actually she loses, then gains a little back. Her brother is putting on 10-20 grams a day.
She does suckle, though can get knocked off so I keep repositioning her/ mum so she can get to get nipple. She also sucked hair/ toes not the nipple! I've tried feeding her kitten formula but she won't accept and gets quite agitated so return her to mum (doing according to videos with body level).
I don't know what else to do to help her, any advice gratefully recieved. Thanks

Sarthur2

Cat lady extraordinaire
Staff Member
Advisor
Purraise
Kittens this young do not need worming, especially a runt with feeding problems. If mom has passed on worms through her breast milk, those worms would show up later when the kitten is a bit older.

This kitten definitely needs supplementing, and needs to begin to put on 6-10 grams a day.

How have you been feeding the kitten - bottle or syringe?

Kittens with a mom will typically reject hand feeding, so using a syringe is best. Once a kitten realizes that the syringe has yummy food in it, they will take it willingly, although it can take a few feedings to reach this point.

Wrap the kitten in a towel like a burrito with only the head sticking out, and hold the kitten on its tummy with head up as it would nurse from mom.