World of Purebreds

starrdazl

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
Hi there! I just thought I would introduce myself to everyone here. I am new to the world of purebred cats, as I have had shelter rescues my entire life. I am just now wanting to purchase a purebred kitten for a pet, and I have lots of questions and lots I still need to learn. I realize that some of my questions may seem a bit stupid to some of you experienced breeders and such, but I hope you all will be willing to work with me. I am very eager to learn all the ropes of the purebred cat world and gain as much knowledge as I possibly can! Thanks for reading and I look forward to chatting with everyone here.

Starrdazl

kai bengals

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
Ok great! What do you want to know? There are many varieties of purebred, pedigree'd cats. Shorthairs, Longhairs, No-Hairs, etc. etc.

What type of breed cat are you interested in?

goldenkitty45

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
First sit down and look at the cats in the different associations and pick out some you may be interested in (google Cat Fanciers Association, American Cat Fanciers Association, or The International Cat Association).

Longhair cats are high maintence cats - many of them, especially Persians, need to be groomed every day or at least 3 times a week to keep mats from forming.

Shorthairs are a lot easier in many ways as far as grooming and you get a lot more choices of breeds too.

I show (and did breed Cornish Rex) cats. My first purebred show cat was a Russian Blue, then we went to Cornish Rex and now own Ocicats. I also had ONE longhair - a Turkish Angora but didn't like the work involved.

Narrow your choices down to 2-3 breeds and read all you can about them. Then when you are ready to pick out a breeder, ask us in here first. Many of us show cats and can help you out with references to the breeders/breeds you like. Don't be afraid to ask questions about good/bad breeders - we don't want you to be ripped off by bad breeders