Trash Can Bandit

jiffer

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
My Oliver loves the trash can. I have tried everything and I just cant keep him out of the trash can. I tried a locking lid and he eventually broke the lock. He also like to shred the trash bag that hangs out of rim of the trash can. I don't know what to do. I have been battling this issue with him since he was 6 months old. (he is now 2 years old)

He is a healthy weight and gets fed twice a day. Any suggestions? I am also open to suggestions for a trash can that locks and the bag doesn't hang on the outside rim of the can. I found a simple human trash can that fits that criteria but I cant bring myself to spend $125-150 on a trash can.

I would appreciate any advice.
Thanks

• Thread Starter Thread Starter

jiffer

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Thank you. I will check it out. In the mean time hopefully someone will have some suggestions.

Caspers Human

TCS Member
Top Cat
Purraise
My former cat, "KC," was a dumpster diver. I cured him of it with a two-pronged approach.

First, I made sure to take out the garbage daily so that there wasn’t anything in the can worth going after.

Second, I got a swing top garbage can and balanced a plastic Solo cup half-full of water on top.
Any time he tried to get into the can the cup of water would fall on him.

As I remember, it only took two times of getting his head wet to completely discourage KC's dumpster diving habit.

susanm9006

Lola
Top Cat
Purraise
Keep looking at trash cans. I have a Rubbermaid 13 gallon wastebasket with a locking lid and a mechanism inside to hold the bag tight so nothing is on the outside for the cat to play with or grab. Here it is at Menards and under $20. I have had this wastebasket for a few years and just love it because the trash bags never slip down.

https://www.menards.com/main/storag...407-c-7124.htm?tid=5009773209430124781&ipos=6

Last edited:

LTS3

TCS Member
Veteran
Purraise