Trapping Feral Cat with Facial Wound

catmoon

TCS Member
Young Cat
Purraise
This is not my first rescue, but it is my first time working with a feral. I've been feeding this cat in my backyard since October, 2023. Late last month he disappeared for about a week and returned with a pretty nasty looking facial wound right above his neck.

I contacted a local cat rescue, who referred me to my city's animal control. I called them and it was decided that I would trap him, bring him in, and they would neuter him and provide wound care. After that, they would return him to me and I would foster him in a large dog crate for a 4 month rabies quarantine.

It's been almost a month and trap training has been moving very slowly. He is extremely suspicious of the box trap and lately he tends to disappear for days at a time. This week, I was finally able to get him to fully enter the unset trap to eat, so we are making progress.

The problem is that it's been 4 days since I've seen him, and the last time he came around the wound was looking worse. He is long-haired and the fur had been matted around the injury. Now the matted fur hangs off his face and the his wound is fully exposed. It's not bleeding, but it looks very raw.

Is there anything I can do to try and attract this cat into my yard so I can get him trapped quickly? Right now I am leaving food out daily and removing it at night. I'm concerned he will develop an infection and that soon it will be too late. Thank you in advance for any guidance. I am heading to work but I will reply to comments as soon as I can.

fionasmom

Staff Member
Purraise
TNR Scenarios: Hard to Trap Cats
Neighborhood Cats | How to TNR | Hard-to-Catch Cats
A Little Bait Goes a Long Way
Baits for Cats

Kentucky Fried Chicken has always been my best bait, or any other greasy, breaded fried chicken including frozen that you bake first.
The problem is that it's been 4 days since I've seen him, and the last time he came around the wound was looking worse