Torn About What To Do With My New Kitten

kiki123

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hello All,

This is my first time posting. I recently adopted a sweet 15 week old kitten. This little man is so affectionate, which is why I fell in love with him. However, having him around is causing me much stress :(

This precious baby is very clingy which is to be expected since I'm his "mama" now. He wants to be with me or ON me constantly and cries the most pitiful cries if he is not. When I walk into the room with him he instantly puurrrs and tries to climb up me. In fact, he climbs up me all the time. I can't really do anything without this sweet baby climbing my leg or onto my lap to cuddle. If I pick him up and put him back on the floor, he just climbs up again instantly. It's a great trait, and I'm very lucky to have such a sweet baby. He doesn't bite or scratch me, he just wants to be with me and lick me.

Here's the problem. I live alone and work full time, sometimes needing to be gone for 9-10 hrs a day. I've read about a TONS of different books and forums about how it is best to adopt 2 kittens together, but my lease only allows for one cat, so I can't get him a buddy. When I leave he wails the most pitiful cries ever and it literally breaks my heart. I am SO worried about him being depressed and lonely when I'm gone and feel incredibly guilty about it. I have a feliway plug in his safe room, and bought him SO many toys - different types, multiple scratching posts. stuffed animals that have heating elements which can be inserted in them. The problem is, he doesn't care at all about any of his toys. He just wants ME. I can get him to play with a laser and "da bird", but even then, he will only do it for about 5 minutes and then starts to climb up me and want to be held.