Started Raw now why do they smell so bad?

allypally

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
I recently started feeding my two babies (4 and 7 months) a combination of Nature's Variety Kibble and Raw and my poor little boy Butters has a horrible smell coming from him I work in health care and I'm use to strong odors but this even makes me want to hurl. He is voiding without pain or a change in frequency and does not seem to be in any pain. I checked his rectum and I noticed he had some black crusting around where his glands are and wiped it with a warm wet paper towel and cut his hair around the area so he doesn't get any left behinds (he is a main coon mix). I don't know if I have to take him to get his glands expressed or if this is something that will work its self out on its own and is just part of the diet change. We have already been thought feline herpes a uti, spaying, neutering, and worms. I just want to make sure I have healthy happy kitties and I'm getting tired of the vets waiting room. Any advice??

tobytyler

TCS Member
Alpha Cat
Purraise
Oh boy, it almost does sound like it could be the anal glands but so young?   I also have kittens that I started on raw, if anything I think they smell better than ever.  Their breath is definititely more pleasant.  I don't know anything about the Nature'sVariety kibble. Could that be causing it?  I am not feeding any kibble.  Mine are on scheduled feedings.  Are you leaving the kibble out now?  It's really easy when they are still kittens to get them used to scheduled mealtimes.

Welcome to TCS.  It's great to meet you!

Last edited:

txcatmom

TCS Member
Super Cat
Purraise
I'd also be surprised for such a young cat to have anal gland problems.  BUT we went through this recently and the black crusties you describe sound exactly like what we experienced.  Our cat didn't smell funny though.  I think a trip to the vet is in order.  I think it is pretty unusual for cats to have a strong odor.

Also, parasites could be an issue.