Possible ringworm? (any and all input is appreciated!)

sweetheartcats

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting here so apologies for any formatting errors.

I have an 8-year old indoor medium-haired cat (breed unknown) and about a week ago I noticed that she had a scab on the back of her head. At first I assumed she might have gotten a scrape from jumping around on furniture, but since the tiny wound didn't seem to be open/bleeding and her day-to-day behaviour didn't change (appetite, playfulness, energy levels were the same as usual) I decided that it probably wasn't anything too serious and decided to just monitor her closely to make sure things didn't change for the worse.

It's been a couple of days now and thankfully my kitty is still behaving as usual but I decided that I should do a little more research online to get better informed of the situation and that's when I stumbled across 'ringworm' and after doing a little bit of reading I feel completely overwhelmed and scared, thinking this could possibly be it. I've attached some pictures of the spot on her head and I would appreciate if anyone had any input or advice if they think this could be ringworm or a scrape that will heal on it's own. I want to take her to the vet but I'm in a bit of a tricky financial situation right now (and I have GAD (generalized anxiety disorder), the last time I took my cat to the vet for an unrelated issue it turned out to be nothing, for which I am thankful, but the tests made a considerable dent in my savings) so before I do I'd like to hear from other people of their opinion and what course of action to take.

Thank you so much if you've read all of this.

Some more information:
- She only has one spot like this
- I have another cat, she doesn't have any symptoms so far (I don't really care if I get infected with ringworm but I don't want my other kitty to also have to go through this if this -is- ringworm)