Porcupine Cats

kristenfields

TCS Member
Kitten
Purraise
Hi everyone,

This is my first time in the forum and I need some help with my two male cats. It's a bit of a long story but I want to make sure you have all the details.

We got Oskar at 8 weeks old- definitely weren't as good as we should have been about aggressive play with hands/etc but he's always been a good cat. About 6 months into having him it was obvious that he was interested in making friends and had successful interactions with other cats. He was also very playful and constantly wanted attention- so we got him a slightly younger and very sweet/also playful cat named Orville.

The introduction process went well- we made a couple mistakes, but always started over and were able to fully integrate them in about a week and a half and they have been best buddies ever since. They snuggled and ate near each other, wrestled and played and were both equally affectionate to me and my husband.

Then came Christmas last year- they had been left before when we've gone on vacation but our normal cat sitter was no longer available, and we were in a pinch. We hired a sweet neighbor girl who had done some pet sitting in the past- after all we had sweet, comfortable boys.

Well, we get a call the day we drive down to Texas from a hysterical cat sitter. Something happened that spooked Oskar and he went after Orville, cornering him in the bedroom. In her novice, she made the situation much much much worse in ways that we don't even know for sure. I know that Oskar cornered her, wouldn't let her move and yowled at her for an hour. She hid from him and couldn't get out of the apartment.

We called some emergency contacts who graciously drove down and was able to successfully separate the boys, and they remained that way while we were gone. A few times though, Oskar opened the door to "free" his brother.